طرز خواهش کردن از دیگران

 UNIT  2       ASKING  PEOPLE  TO  DO  THINGS

 Exercise  1

Frank and Tom are friends. Frank asks Tom to help him. Here are some words they use. Listen and circle the words you don't know. Discuss them with your teacher.

1. hang up

2. hold

3. straight

4. nail

5. hammer

                                                                                                                                                                            

Exercise  2

Complete these sentences with the words given in exercise 1 and repeat the sentences.

    EXAMPLE: Hang up my coat in the closet, will you? 

   1. They sat down in a ………….line.

   2. She went to the kitchen and got me a ……….. .

   3. ………. the picture up so we can see it.

   4. The key was hanging on a …….. by the door.

Exercise  3

Listen to the conversation. Practice it with a partner.

 

FRANK: Would you mind helping me for a minute, Tom?

TOM:       I'd be glad to, Frank. What do you want me to do?

FRANK: Help me hang up this picture. Hold it straight while I put in the nail.

TOM:      I'd be glad to.

FRANK: Hand me the hammer. Give me one of those nails, too, please.

TOM:      Here you are.

FRANK: There. Hoe does that look? Tell me if I had it straight.

TOM:      Yes, it's straight, but it's upside down.

Exercise   4

Here are some verbs which are presented in pairs. Study them carefully and ry to practice them orally.

1.      Tell ,    Ask

   a. Please tell Mr. Cooper that I'm here.

   b. I've already told John.

   c. Please ask John to help me.

   d. I've already asked John to help you.

2.      Take,  Bring,   Get

   a. Take these books home with you tonight.

   b. I took those books home with me last night.

   c. Please bring me those magazines.

   d. He brought me two magazines.

   e. Get me a hammer from the kitchen, will you?

   f. He got me a hammer from the kitchen.

  

3.        Turn on  ,   Turn off 

   a. Please ask John to turn on the lights.

   b. John already turned on the lights.

   c. Please ask John to turn off the lights.

   d. John already turned off the lights.

4.        Pick up,  Put down ,  Hang up

   a. Please pick up those cups and saucers.

   b. I've already picked up those cups and saucers.

   c. Please put your books down.

   d. I've already put my books down.

   e. Hang up my coat, will you?

   f. He hung up my coat in the closet.

5.         Bother  ,    Help

   a. Please don't bother me now.

   b. Is he bothering you?

   c. Would you help me?

   d. He helped me lift the heavy box.

6.       Count

   a. Please count the chairs in that room.

   b. I've already counted the chairs in that room.

7.        Pour

   a. Please pour this milk into that glass.

   b. I've already poured the milk into the glass.

8.        Call

   a. If you have time, will you call me tomorrow?

   b. He called me last night.

Exercise  5 

Ella is preparing a birthday cake. Barbara helps her. Here are some words they use. Listen and circle the words you don't know. Discuss them with your teacher.

1. refrigerator

2. egg white

3. yolk

4. bowl

5. secret

Exercise  6

Complete these sentences with the words given in exercise 1 and repeat the sentences.

1. Fill the ………. with water.

2. There are two quarts of milk in the ………. .

                                                                                          3. An egg has two parts, ………. and ……….. .

4. She told me her ………. .

Exercise   7

Listen to the conversation. Practice it with a partner.

Ella:        Will you bring me two eggs from the refrigerator?

Barbara: Here are the eggs. Anything else I can do for you?

Ella:         Yes. Put the egg whites in one bowl and the yolks in another.

Barbara: What are you making? A cake?

Ella:         That's right. Don't tell Harry. It's for his birthday. Keep it a secret.

Barbara: I won't tell anyone.

Exercise   8

Complete the following sentences with the appropriate words from the list below:

doing for      hang up      turn on     put down

wait for       pick up       turn off      taking back

                                                          a. Please ask John to ……… the lights …….. . It's dark in here.

b.  ……… your books ……… on the table, please.

c.  ……… my coat ……… in the closet, will you?

d.  Please don't ……… me. I'll be busy all afternoon.

e.  Would you mind …….. a favor ….. me?

f.  Would you please ………. those cups and saucers from the table?

g.  Would you mind ………. these books …….. to the library?

h.  Tell him to ………. the lights ………. when he goes to bed.

Exercise   9

Change the following to questions using the expression "Would you please . . . ". Follow the example.

Example:  I want you to turn on the lights.

                  Would you please turn on the lights?

a. I want you to get me a hammer.

b.  I want you to count the chairs in this room.

c.  I want you to pour this milk into that glass.

d.  I want you to help me lift this heavy box.

e.  I want you to take these books home.

f.  I want you to turn the lights off.

g. I want you to bring me those magazines.

                                                                                                  

Exercise   10

Complete the following sentences with the correct form of the word in the parentheses.

Examples:  Please bring me the magazine.    (bring)

                    Would you mind bringing me the magazine?    (bring)

                    Ask John to bring me the magazine.    (bring)

a.  Would you please ……… me wrap this box?    (help)

b.  Would you mind ………. me wrap this box?    (help)

c.  Please don't ……… me wrap this box.    (help)

d.  Would you ask John to ………. me wrap this box?    (help)

e. Would you please ……… this letter for me?    (mail)

f.  Would you mind ………. this letter for me?    (mail)

g. Please don't ……… this letter for me.    (mail)

h.  Ask John to ……… this letter for me.    (mail)

i.  Would you mind ………. your coat up?    (hang)

j. Would you please ……… your coat up?    (hang)

k.  Would you ask John to ………. his coat up?   (hang)

l.  Please don't ………. up your coat.     (hang)

Exercise   11

Change the following to negative sentences.

Examples:  I am a doctor.   I'm not a doctor.

                                                                    Bring me a glass of milk.    Don't bring me a glass of milk.

 a.  Wait for me at 5 o'clock.

 b.  She'll have time to do me a favor.

 c.  He got me a glass of milk yesterday.

 d.  Are you going to help me wrap this box?

 e.  Bring me a yardstick.

 f.  These nails weigh too much.

 g.  I turned off the radio.

 h.  I am very busy.

 i.  Pour me a cup of coffee.

 j.  He helped me lift the heavy box.

 k.  Count all the chairs in this room.

 l.  He is bothering me.

 m.  Is he talking to you?

 n.  Take these magazines back to the library.

                                                                                                                 o.  Leave your books on the table.

READING

When Henry came home from the office last Thursday night, he saw a note from his wife on the kitchen table. "Henry," the note said, "my mother isn't well and I am going home to be with her for a few days. There are a few things that ought to be done while I'm away.

"First, take your blue jacket to the dry cleaner's and leave your shirts at the laundry. At the same time, would you please stop at the shoe repairman's and get my brown shoes? And go to the supermarket and get some coffee, milk, and butter.

"When you get home, please call Mary Bickford and tell her that I won't be able to go to her party tomorrow evening. Tell her why I can’t come.

"There are three things that must be done before you go to work tomorrow morning: leave a note for the milkman asking for just one quart, not two; put the garbage in the backyard; give the dog something to eat.

"If you have time on Saturday, cut the grass. Don't forget the grass in the backyard. The newspaper boy will come on Saturday afternoon. Be sure to give him money.

"I think that's all. I'll call this evening and let you know how Mom is.

                                                                 Love,

                                                                           Alice"

Henry looked out the window at the grass Alice wanted him to cut. His wife had asked him to do many things. He hoped her mother would be well very quickly.

Questions

1.  What did Henry find on the kitchen table?

2.  Where had Alice gone? Why?

3.  What was the first thing Alice wanted Henry to do?

4.  Why did Henry have to call Mary?

5.  What did Alice ask Henry to do on Saturday if he had time?

نظرات 2 + ارسال نظر
رضا سه‌شنبه 7 آبان‌ماه سال 1387 ساعت 12:14 ب.ظ http://www.reza-computer-science.blogsky.com

سلام.
خسته نباشید استاد

ِیوسوف سه‌شنبه 7 آبان‌ماه سال 1387 ساعت 09:32 ب.ظ

سلام اوستاد
یورولمویاسیز
نجور ائلیاق کی اینگلیسینی یاخجی دانیشاق؟
یاشاسین

برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد